4th December 2023

It has been dubbed one of the vital pointless matches in soccer, however the World Cup third place match nonetheless delivers loads of motion on the pitch. 

The 2022 version can be no completely different as Croatia and Morocco face off after falling simply in need of the ultimate. 

Each groups have carried out strongly in Qatar thus far with Croatia knocking out Brazil and Morocco changing into the primary African staff to achieve the semifinals. 

These sides have excelled defensively on the match and possibilities may very well be at a premium after they face off for third place. 

Croatia and Morocco in truth performed out a 0-Zero draw within the group levels, so what is going to occur this time round if the match ends degree after 90 minutes? 

MORE: Why is there a 3rd place match on the World Cup?

Will World Cup third place match go to further time or a penalty shootout?

Regardless of being meaningless within the eyes of many and faraway from the Euros many years in the past, a winner is required on this recreation and FIFA guidelines counsel this match will work as some other knockout conflict. 

That signifies that each further time and a penalty shootout can be used if wanted to resolve a winner between Croatia and Morocco. 

Some pleasant membership competitions usually skip further time to save lots of gamers from having to compete for an additional 30 minutes, however the World Cup rightly or wrongly would not take this stance. 

Fortunately, the third place match has very not often required further time earlier than with such video games usually determined with a late flurry of targets. 

World Cup third place match historical past

Solely as soon as has this match required further time with the 1986 showdown between Belguim and France lasting 120 minutes as Les Bleus ultimately claimed a 4-2 win. 

Remarkably, this fixture has by no means required a penalty shootout earlier than however Croatia will like their possibilities if that run was to finish in 2022 having crushed each Brazil and Japan on penalties in Qatar up to now. 

Belgium have been the final aspect to triumph on this recreation after they defeated England 2-Zero in Russia 4 years in the past. 

Yr Winners Losers Closing Rating
1954 Austria Uruguay Austria 3-1 Uruguay
1958 France West Germany France 6-Three West Germany
1962 Chile Yugoslavia Chile 1-Zero Yugoslavia
1966 Portugal Soviet Union Portugal 2-1 Soviet Union
1970 West Germany Uruguay West Germany 1-Zero Uruguay
1974 Poland Brazil Brazil 0-1 Poland
1978 Brazil Italy Brazil 2-1 Italy
1982 Poland France Poland 3-2 France
1986 France Belgium Belgium 2-Four France (aet)
1990 Italy England Italy 2-1 England
1994 Sweden Bulgaria Sweden 4-Zero Bulgaria
1998 Croatia Netherlands Netherlands 1-2 Croatia
2002 Turkey South Korea South Korea 2-Three Turkey
2006 Germany Portugal Germany 3-1 Portugal
2010 Germany Uruguay Uruguay 2-Three Germany
2014 Netherlands Brazil Brazil 0-Three Netherlands
2018 Belgium England Belgium 2-Zero England

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.